In order to “improve response times to serious emergencies, and save time for busy New Yorkers”, the NYPD will no longer respond to motor vehicle incidents which only involve property damage. Under the new program, drivers are not required to wait for police to respond to the scene of the accident. However, under New York law, drivers are still required to exchange driver’s license information, insurance, and vehicle registration with all other motorists before leaving the scene. In addition, drivers must file a “Report of Motor Vehicle Accident” (MV-104) form with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of a collision if it caused more than $1,000 in property damage to any one person.
If you think you are injured and in need of medical attention, it is best to err on the side of caution and request medical treatment by calling 911. Motor vehicle collision reports completed by the NYPD contain important and valuable information which can help you in the prosecution of your personal injury claims.
If you or a loved one were injured in a car accident, please contact our office today for a free consultation.